Slow Jam ’98

Last week, I re-watched the Kermit vs. Kermit version of “Under Pressure”. That video is so brilliant, I just love it. I mean, Queen, Bowie, and Kermit? What’s not to love? “Under Pressure” is one of those songs that has been one of my all-time favourites without me even realizing it.

Then later in the week I see this Sesame Street mashup of “Sure Shot”. Oscar as MCA, Grover as Ad-Rock, and Cookie Monster as Mike D is pretty great, but it doesn’t beat the Kermits for me. Still good stuff though.

I often wonder if Matt & Kim ever get upset. They’re always smiling and seem like they’re just having so much FUN all the time. It’s pretty infectious, which was apparent when they played Fallon this week. The Roots definitely caught it!

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Kindest Lines is relatively new on my radar, but I am enjoying what I have heard so far. They are out of New Orleans, which seems to have quite a music scene brewing lately, and are dark but dancey. Check out their debut album, Covered In Dust, which has been out for just over a month or so now, and they will soon be touring with Xiu Xiu, so check them out if they turn up in your ‘hood.

Not new on anyone’s radar is LCD Soundsystem, and some fine individual has remade their video for “All My Friends” in Lego. It is pretty great. You can compare it to the original here if you like to do that sort of thing.

It seems as if documentaries on bands are popping up more and more often lately. Beats Rhymes & Life, the doc on A Tribe Called Quest, was directed by Michael Rapaport which seemed like an odd pairing. That one is in limited release around the US, but sadly, I don’t think it has made it north of the border just yet. I would love to see this one and have actually considered road tripping to go see it, but I’m sure the internet will eventually throw me a bone.

In a more logical pairing, there is the Pearl Jam doc from Cameron Crowe that will be premiering at TIFF this year. I was a big-time Pearl Jam fan back in the day. They were the band I most connected with in high school. A friend of mine worked at a surf shop and got to deliver a custom board to Eddie once and they became surfing buddies. Obviously, I thought my friend was the coolest ever.

Watching the trailer brought back a lot of memories. You have to admit, Pearl Jam is pretty amazing. There aren’t many bands of that era that have survived this long that are still making music together; I have a lot of respect for them as a result. Looking forward to checking this one out too.

You wouldn’t think the White House would be up on internet memes, but I guess if that meme involves Rick Astley, they might be. You also wouldn’t think the White House would Rickroll someone via twitter, but that totally happened last week. Good one, sir!

2 comments

Leave a Reply

