Calypso Gold

Not a great day, but at least I can get a post in.

This week gave us a new Sleigh Bells video for “Rill Rill”. Tough girl and a muscle car. Not reinventing the wheel or anything with this one, but it’s a good song and seems to somehow suit the band well.

Last week also gave us a vid from Matt & Kim for “Cameras”. No shiny happy Matt & Kim in this one, but I bet they had a blast filming.

My friend Ian is an amazing artist. Earlier this month, he put together a Pummelvision piece that is quite nice, and I was quite happy to see a flash of a pic I took of him ages and ages ago. It’s probably one of my favourite pictures I have ever taken – Ian in his aviators, taking a sip of his water in the sun. Actually, those might have been someone else’s glasses now that I’m thinking about it. I remember it was at Milestone’s at English Bay and Ian and our other friend German were just up visiting for the weekend. That picture brings back a lot of bittersweet memories. It isn’t that it wasn’t a good time, it’s more that I had to walk away from it. But as I watched this, it was really nice to see some familiar faces. The word of the day is nostalgia. The pic comes in around 3:48 if you can catch it.

And here’s a little bonus nostalgia that takes me right back to that time too.

Leave a Reply

