The Vast Spoils Of America (From the Badlands Through the Ocean)

What can you say about the Magnetic Fields? They are amazing, and have been for the last 20-plus years. Songwriters can only dream of being as genius as Stephin Merritt. They’ve been making this documentary on him and the Magnetic Fields for the past ten years, and it’s finally getting screened out in the world. I’m excited to see it and bask in the glory that is Merritt, but for now, I can watch this trailer.

I was thinking about all the awesome upcoming shows in this humble city, and could not believe I had not mentioned Sleigh Bells here yet. I’ve been into these guys since I first heard them last year and, as a former co-worker of mine would say, they are killin’ it. Seems like Brooklyn, in general, is killin’ it these days. Sleigh Bells will be releasing their debut album, Treats, on May 11th in cahoots with M.I.A. Yeah, I’m going to call that a win.

Miles Kurosky, formerly of Beulah, released his first solo album, The Desert of Shallow Effects, at the beginning of this month. Here’s a little sampling and some puppets for you.

Oh yeah, have I mentioned Passion Pit are huge?

Vodpod videos no longer available.
Leave a Reply

