Man Out of Time

If anyone had any doubt about the ridiculousness of Billy Corgan, I’m pretty sure this should put that to rest. Oh, how the mighty have fallen.

Passion Pit, I like you. In fact, I’ve liked you for a while now. But I’m scared you’re blowing up too fast, what with your PSP commercial over the holiday season and all. That kind of “skyrocketing” freaks me right out! But alas, I cannot help but still like you.

Sweden has a Pirate Party and they won two seats in Parliament. Perhaps there is hope for the world yet, and that hope is named Sweden!

Speaking of Sweden and its many delights, last night I saw Jens Lekman at Richard’s on Richards. He and his band were completely delightful and charming, which seems to be consistent with all the Swedish crooners I have seen. It was all so… nice. Just NICE! There was sing-along-ing, dancing, and head-bopping from side to side.I smiled throughout the show and even as I waited for the bus after it was over. If a show can leave you smiling while waiting for the bus, I’d say that’s a win. I wish there was more merch though. I know getting over the border with merch can be a challenge, so bands don’t always have a full variety when they come up here. There was one t-shirt design in a couple of different colours, some CDs and vinyl, and that was about it. I was hoping to get one of these keys, but they sold out before they got up here. Blast! Oh well, it just gives me another excuse not to miss him the next time he comes through town.

I’m not sure what the name of the opening artist was. He was a tall, slender guy with his acoustic guitar which he softly plucked. He wore an oxford shirt with khakis that were rolled into small cuffs right above his ankles. Oh, and also some loafers with no socks. He seemed like he would be from somewhere like Nantucket. I wish the sound had been better during his set, as his voice sounded very soothing and pleasant from what I could hear.

Matt & Kim made a video where they get nekkid. I would like to know more about this. Were they really nekkid or were they wearing strategically-placed flesh-toned garments that, when blurred out, would make one appear to be nekkid? Were those real cops laying the beat down on Matt? Kim sure as hell didn’t get hit by a bus, obviously, but so many questions…

More cuteness from The Boy Least Likely To:

And something to inspire some bopping around, courtesy of Pains of Being Pure At Heart.

Leave a comment