Take All You Can Take

Sigur Rós has a video out for Við spilum endalaust. Not all that exciting of a video but Sigur Rós nonetheless.

Rivers Cuomo might be full of himself and pompous, but goddamn if he isn’t a talented mofo with some darn catchy songs. I have a soft spot for Weezer, though I doubt my love for them will ever reach the same peak it hit during the Pinkerton days. Anyhow, his second solo album, Alone 2 – The Home Recordings of Rivers Cuomo comes out on the 25th and you can preview a new track on his myspace page.

Beck has a new video for “Youthless” that is pretty great.

Boyz II Men was a group from my youth and I will admit, they did their thing and did it well. I mean, can anyone deny “End of the Road” or “On Bended Knee”? How soon we forget the catchiness of “Mowtown Philly”! You know who didn’t forget? Jens Lekman, that’s who. Here he is covering “Water Runs Dry” live. I want to give him a great big hug.

Another band from my past is Pearl Jam. I had the major hots for Eddie Vedder back in the day and actually even have a light switch plate featuring Mr. Vedder in my apartment. Pitchfork has a cover he did with Corin Tucker of the John Doe and Kathleen Edwards track “The Golden State” which you can find here. It’s quite lovely.

Why? has an awesome video for “A Sky for Shoeing Horses Under” up at Pitchfork as well.

The Hives are doing a Christmas duet with Cyndi Lauper. Believe it.

If you have an appreciation for hip-hop, these 13 minutes are for you. All I can say is, De La Soul, Mos Def, Kanye West, Will.i.am, Nas, Damon Albarn, and freestyle. Go. Go now.

Leave a Reply

