Two Hearts

Death Cab for Cutie played on Leno on Hallowe’en. I love. In case you missed it, here you go. Looks like Ben got rid of his chops as well as a noticeable amount of weight!

I went to see Asobi Seksu on the 28th at the Media Club. Let me first say, I really love going to shows there. The place is small and intimate and I have seen several ridiculously good shows there over the past few years, most recently Joan of Arc. But back to Asobi. They were supposed to play here a while back but the show got cancelled. Yuki apologized during their set and said it was due to customs and border-crossing issues, which is pretty commonplace. The first thing I noticed when they took the stage was how tiny Yuki was – and she was wearing heels! The whole band really rocked it and put on a super-tight set concluding with Yuki doing a bit of drum-work. It was like watching a tiny, Asian, female version of Animal. Impressive to say the least. While standing very near the stage, we managed to end up right behind the most annoying girls at the show. One of them, who I will refer to as “The Bra-less Wonder” (TBW), was doing some sort of blend of ballet and raving. We’ll just say there was a lot of flourish. TBW’s buddy was one of those no-rhythm white girls that likes to jump and flail. They were quite the duo and it’s a credit to the crowd that these two didn’t get punched. Anyhow, back to the show. The only bit of disappointment I had with the set was that they didn’t play “Sooner”. It was the song that got me paying attention to these guys and it remains my favourite Asobi song. I’m excited for their new album, which will be released on Polyvinyl, of whom I am a big fan. Good things to come, I’m sure. Catch them if you can.

Danny Boyle has a new movie coming out called Slumdog Millionaire and the trailer gave me non-spooky chills, it looks so good. (The use of Sigur Rós probably pushed me right over the top – Sylvester Stalone-style.) Boyle doesn’t have a very extensive filmography, but everything I’ve seen by him I have really liked including the not-so-successful A Life Less Ordinary. I am really looking forward to seeing this film.

Leave a Reply

